Scratch Education Collaborative

Scratch is excited to have launched the inaugural cohort of the Scratch Education Collaborative (SEC), an initiative that supports and engages participating organizations from around the world in a two-year, collaborative cohort experience to strengthen their organization’s commitment to, and implementation of, equitable creative computing.

The unique SEC experience gives participants the opportunity to participate in a series of collaborative learning experiences that are co-developed and co-facilitated by Scratch and SEC partner organizations as they work to create a self-sustaining community of practice and establish models for equity-centered creative computing resources.

SEC Vision

  • – Increase access and eliminate gaps that have limited creative computing opportunities for educators and students in traditionally underrepresented communities
  • – Realign the resources of the Scratch Foundation toward a greater focus on serving marginalized communities and local organizations that support them with creative computing opportunities
  • – Create a self-sustaining network and models for equity-centered creative computing resources and learning experiences

The SEC 2022 Cohort Application will be launched in late fall 2021. The application process will be open to non-profit organizations, public schools, school districts, universities, colleges, and other government entities. Eligible organizations must be designated as a non-profit organization, currently serving historically marginalized communities, directly serving youth through creative learning and/or creative coding initiatives, and willing to collaborate with Scratch and the SEC community to develop and implement equitable creative computing resources that can be shared globally.

To receive Scratch news and updates, including information about the SEC application, please sign up here for our “Scratch for Organizations” email list. For more information or if you have specific questions about the SEC, please contact us at

Participating Organizations | 2021-2022


Alaska Native Science & Engineering Program – AK, USA

Arkansas Regional Innovation Hub – AR, USA


BootUp PD – UT, USA

Bridges to Science – TX, USA


Center for Cyber Education at Mississippi State University – MS, USA

Creative Community Learning Brasil Space Action Partners / Projeto Social Ação Parceiros – Santa Bárbara, Brazil

Code Club Australia – Sydney, Australia

CodeCrew – Memphis, TN, USA


Deaf Kids Code – New York City, NY, USA

Deaf Technology Foundation – Jos, Nigeria

Digital Harbor Foundation – Baltimore, MD, USA


Faculty of Education Team at University of Johannesburg – Johannesburg, South Africa


Hayward Unified School District – Hayward, CA, USA

Humble Independent School District (ISD) – Humble, TX, USA


iamtheCODE – Guildford, UK

ILCE Instituto Latino Americano de la Comunicación Educativa – México City, MX


Kids Code Jeunesse – Montréal, Canada


Lomie G. Heard Elementary School – Clark County School District, NV, USA

Lutacaga Elementary – Othello School District, WA, USA


Makerere Innovation Society – Uganda

Mouse – NYC, NY, USA


National Society of Black Engineers – VA, USA

NEFSTEM Center, University of North Florida – FL, USA

New York City Department of Education – CSforAllNYC – New York City, NY, USA

New York Hall of Science – New York City, NY, USA


Odyssey Educational Foundation – Nigeria


Play Pattern – Princeton, NJ, USA


Quest Alliance – Bengaluru, India


Schoolnet South Africa – Johannesburg, South Africa

Sistema THEAD – Barcelona, Spain

Sisters of Code – Phnom Penh, Cambodia

STEAMLabs Africa – Nairobi, Kenya

STEM Coding Lab – Pittsburgh, PA, USA

STEM Impact Center Kenya – Nairobi, Kenya

Streetlight Schools – Johannesburg, South Africa


Tanner Elementary – Chicago Public Schools, IL, USA

Teachathon Foundation – Lagos, Nigeria


UdiGitalEdu – Girona, Spain

Ulnooweg Education Centre – Halifax, Nova Scotia


WeTeach_CS, Center for Cyber Education at University of Texas Austin – USA


Youth for Technology Foundation – Nigeria and Kenya

Partnering Organizations | 2021-2022

Raspberry Pi Foundation – Cambridge, UK

Stanford d. School – Stanford, CA, USA

Chicago Public Schools – IL, USA

Micro:bit Educational Foundation – UK

STEM Nola – New Orleans, LA, USA

Brazilian Creative Learning Network (BCLN) – Brazil

The Tinkering Studio – San Francisco, CA, USA